Birthdays.

Birthday is something that most people always looking forward to. And I used to belong to those people. But not now anymore.

September 13 marks my birthday every year and every year I celebrate it differently – according to what situation I am in. Like last year, I had my birthday while staying at my sister’s. So it was quite a celebration. Well, since one defines celebration accordingly, mine is of course all about food and beverages that comes together with warm and well wishes and togetherness on top of that. The bond created that makes my special day more awesome.

But that’s all in last year. This year was entirely different cause I never had such. Never had I thought my special day would be a bit off from what I’ve experienced before – no warm wishes and presents that I used to get before, feeling lonely even though there were people surrounded me that day. And those things that I ought to expect as I grow older.

But I wasn’t taken aback by the loneliness I’ve suffered because I actually did expect the feeling to linger around. Because that’s how life is. After all, we all will be alone – either we had to or we want to.

img_6340
This was shot while in the wood.

My birthday this year was a bit different because I was at my granny’s. Kampong is a place that gives off the vibe of serenity, green, calm and peace and whatever they are. My dad decided to take us to sightseeing around the kampong and we went to my late great grandfather’s house to pick up some jack fruits by the house. It was about the time of the season. After gathering almost 10 of it and properly kept in inside a plastic bag, we went down the ‘hill’ near the woods to take a look at some land owned by my late grandfather. We went deeper into the woods but couldn’t go farther than approx. 240m due to circumstances covering the pathway. Looking at the trees and rivers and such reminded me of the old day when I was a third grader I suppose, which was the lat time I went in there helping out my granny’s cleaning the palm tree planting area and such. It was and is a wonderful memory  and experience to be cherished of.

When I tried to look back at those birthdays I’ve celebrated, I’d rather say that this year is the best one so far. It maybe not that impressive as to compare with my previous one, but this one makes me to value myself, my family and nature the most. The value that binds us together and what more to ask rather than all the blessings I was and am bestowed with.

On September 22, we had our small birthday party celebrating us three, me, my brother and sister who were born in September.

img_8964
A small birthday party.
Leave a Reply

